Pettson and Findus


Pettson and Findus is a series of children’s books written and illustrated by Swedish author Sven Nordqvist. The books feature an old farmer (Pettson) and his cat (Findus) who live in a small ramshackle farmhouse in the countryside. The first of the Pettson och Findus book to be published was Pannkakst√•rtan in 1984 (first published in English in 1985 as Pancake Pie).¬†The books have worldwide book sales of over 6 million and have been translated into 44 languages.



  • New movie launching, Oct./Nov. 2018
  • 8 different book titles
  • Translated into 47 languages
  • + 3 million books sold in Sweden
  • + 13 million books sold worldwide
  • Multi-awarded author e.g Astrid Lindgren- prize